Christmas Mass Schedule

Christmas Eve:

Church: 3 PM (Exalt); 5 PM (Children’s); 9 PM (Choir)

Parish Activities Center: 3:15 & 5:15 PM (Carols)

Christmas Day: 8:30 & 10 AM; 12 Noon

Advent 2018: Comfort in Chaos

Comfort in Chaos, our preaching series for Advent begins Dec. 1 & 2! In the midst of so much trouble, division, and stress in our lives how do we make peace with the Prince of Peace for whom we long at Christmas? Join us for four weeks of Advent and learn how to recognize and embrace the Lord’s comfort in the midst of all the chaos!

Advent Service Opportunities

Our two major outreach efforts this holiday season to the needy of our community are our annual Advent Giving Tree program as well as supporting Winter Relief sponsored by Arundel House of Hope, which provides temporary shelter to homeless individuals in Anne Arundel County. Also, we will be distributing Christmas baskets to needy families. Please bring your non-perishable food items to church and place them in the containers.

Advent Friday Eucharistic Adoration

Join us for Prayer Before the Blessed Sacrament each Friday in Advent (December 7, 14, 21) for Eucharistic Adoration. This is a wonderful way to focus our prayer and prepare for the celebration of Christmas. Each Friday’s schedule will be as follows:

8:30 AM – Mass

9 AM – Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament until 7 PM (transferred to the Oratory at the conclusion of confessions) –

9 -9:30 AM  &  7 – 7:30 PM – Confessions (except for Dec. 7 – evening confessions 7-7:15)

 

 

Special Times for Confession

St. John’s will be offering several additional opportunities to celebrate the Sacrament of Reconciliation during Advent in addition to each Saturday from 3:45-4:45 PM

  • Sunday, Dec. 2: 4 PM (with Middle School)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 4: 10:15 AM & 12:50 PM (School Penance Services) & 6:30 PM (Middle School)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 5: 9-9:30 AM; 5-6 PM (with Faith Formation students)
  • Friday, Dec. 7: 9-9:30 AM and 7-7:15 PM
  • Saturday, Dec. 8: 3:45-4:45 PM
  • Sunday, Dec. 9: 8 AM & 4 PM (with Faith Formation)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 12: 9-9:30 AM
  • Friday, Dec. 14: 9-9:30 AM and 7-7:30 PM
  • Saturday, Dec 15: 3:45-4:45 PM
  • Wednesday, December 19: 9-9:30 AM; 7 – 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 20: 9-9:30 AM; 7 – 7:30 PM
  • Friday, December 21: 9-9:30 AM; 7 – 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, December 22: 9-9:30 AM

All are welcome to come at any of the scheduled times.

Advent Fair at the School Auditorium

Sunday December 2 from 8 AM – 1 PM

  • Make a Live Advent Wreath with Fresh Greens
  • Get Ideas for Celebrating Advent at Home
  • Buy a New Set of Candles for Your Wreath
  • Get Prayer and Activity Resources for all Ages
  • Enjoy Coffee and Donuts