Becoming Catholic – RCIA

Interested in Becoming Catholic?

The first step in the Becoming Catholic Process is usually either Alpha or RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults), which are places to explore faith and experience community. It is informal – you can come once or come every week.

Who should come? Anyone! It is for:

  • Seekers curious about God, Jesus, the Bible, Christianity, or the next step in their Faith journey;
  • Starters beginning a relationship with Jesus; and
  • Explorers interested in living out their relationship with Jesus in the Catholic Church.

Each week we discuss a topic using a short passage from the Bible and our own life experience. RICA meets on Monday evenings, and Alpha meets on Wednesday evenings. We share refreshments, social time, and relaxed discussion of some aspect of our Faith.


Who is this Process For?

Becoming Catholic (formally known as RCIA, which stands for the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults) is a process used to prepare adults to enter the Catholic Church. It aims to support:

  • those who are not baptized;
  • those who were baptized Catholic as infants, but who have not celebrated the sacraments of First Holy Eucharist or Confirmation; and
  • Baptized Christians of another denomination with little church background who wish to become Catholic.

It is a process of discernment, meaning that if you begin the process and discover that you are unable or no longer interested in continuing, you are not obligated to finish.

RCIA meets on Monday evenings from 7 – 8:30p.m. in the Gathering Space Meeting Room. As part of the process, we also attend occasional Sunday Masses together.



Choosing Catholicism

Phase One – Inquiry
The initial phase of becoming Catholic is a time when adults can become to know to Jesus better by asking questions about faith, reviewing the basic story of Jesus’s life, and learning why that matters to each of us.

Phase Two – Teaching
After a person decides he or she is interested in Catholicism formal teaching begins. This phase is known as the catechumenate, because people preparing for a baptism are called catechumens.

Phase Three – Preparation
This phase helps adults who have decided to enter the Catholic Church and receive sacraments prepare to receive those sacraments. This time of prayer and reflection is known as the period of purification and enlightenment.

Phase Four – Reflection
After the person has received sacraments they further reflect on the mysteries of faith. This phase helps people integrate what they learned beforehand with their lived experience. This phase is known as mystagogy, which refers to reflection on the mysteries.